Beta for developers.

• Mage Alliance

So, I have heard the Blizzard is going to use the game engine from Legion which got me to wondering about the addon developers. I am not a developer, so I am not sure about these things, but I wonder.

• will developers be modifying old addons or newer ones?

• what will be the limitations, if any, from Blizzard?

• Will developers be given early access to the game to get the addons ready?

• Will there be a menu sections for addon options or just the old / system?

I know no one knows yet, but I'm sure Blizzard has a plan for it.

Also, I wonder what system the macros will use? Let me know if you have any thoughts or opinions. Thanks

• Founder Shaman Horde

Here are my thoughts:

1.) I think they would modify new ones and "down tune" them to work within the bounds of the Classic gameplay. But, I also, am not a developer.
    2.) Things like decursive and weakauras should, and hopefully will be, disabled. Addons that play for you are really against the core game systems and style of Vanilla WoW. I assume addons like this will be blocked and limited.
    3.) I don't think so unless they are prestigious within the community. People like Adam from DBM I see getting a BETA key if a BETA is actually released. But the vast majority of addon devs will have to wait. And in my opinion, that's a good thing. We should have an add-on free era of Classic
    4.) I think text based command line options will be there but will not be used given the ease-of-access an addon window provides. I expect an Addon system settings window in Classic

• Founder Shaman

This is a very good question. I'm thinking that the BETA will be the major dev ground for getting addons situated with the new LUA. I can see certain people being given keys but I think it's going to be much more luck-of-the-draw and developers might opt to buy BETA key access.